Art Exorcsim, or: How I learned to stop worshipping celebrity and start loving the art

Writing Wranglers and Warriors

Portrait

This post by Craig Snider

I have blogged before about Author (Artist) Intent versus Reader (Audience) Response. I won’t rehash that here, but it does lead me into another aspect of that argument. The nature and responsibility of the artist.

We live in a culture obsessed with celebrity. In a world of talking heads, celebrities float among them, dishing out supposed words of wisdom and beatitudes. Why do we listen to them?

Perhaps we have begun to elevate the artists above the art. I’m as guilty as the rest, if not more so. I’m the first to jump on Wikipedia and explore the past, present, and current love life of any actor, director, writer, musician, or other such interesting persona, especially the crazy ones (lookin’ squarely at you Cruise and Lebouf). I have this overpowering need to know more about the person responsible for creating something I love so much…

View original post 595 more words

Let me know what you think.

